Do you currently have any pending theft charges against you in Maryland? Being accused of shoplifting, identity theft, retail theft or possession of stolen goods can have severe and long-lasting consequences on your life. If you are accused of theft, you will find yourself entering the court system, where you will have to face unfamiliar administrative procedures and legal jargon.
It’s important to know that some theft accusations are considered misdemeanors, while others are considered felonies. However, regardless of the type of charges you are facing, make no mistake. You are dealing with a serious criminal matter.
Maryland has several categories of theft laws. They are defined in the Criminal Law Article, Title 7, Section 7-104 of the Maryland Annotated Code as follows:
The act of stealing an item of low value. In the state of Maryland, any object worth less than $100 is considered a minor infraction that’s classified as a misdemeanor. The punishment includes fines of up to $500 in addition to a maximum of 90 days in jail.
This can result in a maximum sentence of 18 months in jail and/or a fine up to $500 if the stolen property is valued between $100 and $1,000.
If the value of the stolen items is between $1,000 and $10,000, the maximum penalty is a ten-year prison sentence and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Theft of property valued between $10,000 and $100,000 is a crime punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a $15,000 fine.
Theft of goods valued over $100,000 can lead to a maximum penalty of 25 years imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $25,000.
If you are facing criminal charges, don’t try to handle them yourself. Seek assistance with the case brought against you in order to secure the best possible outcome.